School-Linked Mental Health

Counseling Services of Southern Minnesota began providing School-Linked Mental Health services in 2014.   The school-linked mental health program is part of an initiative sponsored by the Department of Human Services to increase identification of mental health issues, improve clinical functioning outcomes for children and youth with a mental health diagnosis, and increase accessibility for children and youth who are uninsured or under insured.

School-Linked Mental Health therapy is conducted at the school during the school day and throughout the summer.  Although services are not free, by providing services within the school, children and youth who may never have had access to mental health services can now obtain those services.

We accept most private insurance plans, MA and Minnesota Care plans, and grant funds may be available to families who qualify.  We also offer MNSure navigation services and MA enrollment free of charge.

Our Clinical Team

Our clinical team is made up of Master Level Clinicians including Professional Clinical Counselors, Social Workers, and Marriage and Family Therapists.  Many of our therapists have acquired post graduate training in Evidence Based Models of therapy including:

  • Managing and Adapting Practice (MAP)
  • Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (TF-CBT)
  • Child Parent Psychotherapy (CPP)
  • Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR)

Services Provided

  • Pre-Intake Sessions with Parents/Guardians
  • Diagnostic Assessment
  • Individual and Family Therapy
  • Substance Use Disorder Awareness
  • Clinical care coordination with teachers, caregivers, and other providers
  • Parent/Guardian, Teacher, and Administration Consultations
  • School training and development
  • Attendance at school meetings and individualized Education (IEP)/special education planning meetings
  • Children’s Therapeutic Services and Supports (CTSS). Skill services for children and their family.

Schools We Serve

  • All
  • Cleveland School District
  • Fairmont Area Schools
  • Kato Public Charter
  • Mankato District 77 Public Schools
  • MN New Country
  • Nicollet School District
  • St. Peter Public School System
  • Tri-City United Public School District
  • Waterville-Elysian-Morristown School District
Clinical Trainee
TCU High School, St Peter High School
Nicollet School District
Therapist/Director of School-Linked Services
Cleveland Public School, St Peter Middle School
Clinical Trainee
South Early Learning, MN New Country
Clinical Trainee
Mankato East High School
Therapist/CTSS Program Supervisor
St Peter North Elementary, Waterville Elysian Morristown (WEM) High School/Elementary School
Roosevelt, Prairie Winds Middle School, Dakota Meadows Middle School
Clinical Trainee
Hoover, Lonsdale Elementary
Fairmont Area Schools
Clinical Director
Mankato School District - Jefferson
Clinical Trainee
TCU-Le Center, Mankato School District-Franklin Elementary
Clinical Trainee
Montgomery K-8, Mankato School District - Washington Elementary
Clinical Trainee
St Peter High School, TCU Montgomery K-8,
Kato Public Charter, Mankato West
Waterville Elysian Morristown Middle School

If you have a child or youth attending any of the schools listed who could benefit from school-linked mental health services, please contact your school social worker or counselor and they will assist you with the referral process